Take back your privacy with this new iPhone safety feature

Did you know someone could be using yours iPhone to track your precise location without your knowledge or permission? Fortunately, Apple now provides a feature called Safety Check for us to discover and stop these unauthorized trackers.

What’s great about this new tool is that it automatically detects what you have shared, like your location or photos, and with whom and how to immediately disable access and information.

It’s a game-changer when it comes to your safety. It can mean the difference between life and death, especially if someone’s in a domestic abuse situation.

What is Safety Check?

You’ll need to have updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software before you’ll be able to see the new Safety Check feature. It was created by Apple for users who feel that their personal safety is at risk, whether it be a case of stalking, harassment, or those at risk of domestic abuse or similar situations.

The iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max are displayed at the Apple Fifth Avenue store, in Manhattan, New York City US September 16, 2022.

The iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max are displayed at the Apple Fifth Avenue store, in Manhattan, New York City US September 16, 2022.
(REUTERS/Andrew Kelly)

SEND A FUN MESSAGE WITH THESE IPHONE TRICKS

When Safety Check is enabled, it allows users to choose with whom they are sharing their information, restrict Messages and FaceTime to their iPhone, reset system privacy permission for apps, change passcodes, change their Apple ID password, and more.

iPhone security and privacy

iPhone security and privacy
(Cyberguy.com)

Where can I find Safety Check on my iPhone?

What apps use Safety Check when it is enabled?

The following apps will stop sharing information with people whom you have restricted once Safety Check is enabled:

  • Health
  • Home
  • Shared Calendars
  • Shared Location using Find My
  • Shared Notes
  • Shared Photos (including Shared Library and Shared Albums)

HOW TO FIND YOUR LOST IPHONE

When enabled, what information stops being shared with Safety Check?

When Safety Check is enabled, it will remove any data gathered by the following apps, networks, and features:

  • Bluetooth
  • Calendars
  • Camera
  • Contacts
  • Files and Folders
  • Health
  • Local Network
  • Rental Services
  • Media and Apple Music
  • Microphone
  • Motion & Fitness
  • Photos
  • Reminders
  • Research
  • Speech Recognition

APPLE, GOOGLE, AMAZON AND FACEBOOK ARE ALWAYS LISTENING UNLESS YOU CHANGE THESE SETTINGS

What features are available in Safety Check?

Safety Check comes with three main features.

1. Emergency Reset

The first feature to take a look at within Safety Check is Emergency Reset. This is available for anyone who wants to immediately reset access for all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.

  • Your location will no longer be shared in Find My
  • your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
  • Messages and FaceTime will be restricted only to your iPhone
iPhone security and privacy

iPhone security and privacy
(Cyberguy.com)

GOT AN IPHONE? DON’T WAIT ANOTHER SECOND TO UPDATE CRITICAL PRIVACY SETTINGS

2. Manage Sharing & Access

If you only want to restrict sharing with certain people, you can selectManage Sharing & Access.This will allow you to customize which people and apps can access your information.

iPhone security and privacy

iPhone security and privacy
(Cyberguy.com)

CLICK TO GET KURT’S CYBERGUY NEWSLETTER WITH QUICK TIPS, TECH REVIEWS, SECURITY ALERTS AND EASY HOW-TO’S TO MAKE YOU SMARTER

3. Quick Exit

Finally, in case you need to quickly conceal the information that you’re setting up within your Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the Quick Exit button and it will save any changes you’ve made and immediately bring you back to the Safety Check homepage. No one will be able to access what changes you’ve made in the meantime essentially covering up your tracks.

iPhone security and privacy

iPhone security and privacy
(Cyberguy.com)

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

Once you click on Manage Sharing & Access, it will take you to lists of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.) and you will then be allowed to pick and choose who and what you want to share your information with. All your actions will be saved, and you can always go back into Safety Check later on and change your work.

For more of my Apple tips, head over to CyberGuy.com and search “Apple” and be sure to sign up for my free newsletter.

Leave a Comment